Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Cill Mhantáin

Glenealy hold off spirited Carnew to retain their crown.

October 21st, 2018

Glenealy hold off spirited Carnew to retain their crown.

Glenealy retained their Dacia Senior Hurling Championship after defeating great rivals Carnew. (Pic: Dave Barrett)

Glenealy 4-10 Carnew 1-12

Glenealy held off a spirited Carnew second half revival to retain their Dacia Wicklow senior hurling championship in Joule Park. It had looked done and dusted for Carnew at the break as a missed penalty and a two goal blast from Jonathan O’Neill junior and Gavin Weir had them chasing the game. Enda Donohoe made no mistake with a second penalty chance but a string of saves from Cian Staunton denied them the goals they badly needed and earned him the man of the match. Alan Driver was presented with the Donal O’Donoghue cup after the game.

Glenealy: Cian Staunton; Emmet Byrne, Danny Staunton, Ronan Manley; Garry Byrne, Warren Kavanagh (0-1), Joe Driver Jr.; Jonathan O’Neill Snr (0-4), John Manley; Jamie Byrne, Robert Byrne (0-1), Paul O’Brien (0-1); Jonathan O’Neill Jr. (2-1), Alan Driver (0-1), Gavin Weir (1-0).

Subs: Leighton Glynn for J. Byrne, Gary Hughes for R. Byrne, Wayne O’Gorman for J. Manley, Thomas Doyle for G. Byrne, Enan Glynn for P. O’Brien.


Carnew Emmets: Ted Kennedy; Aaron Kinsella, John Walsh, Conall McCrea 0-1; Willie Collins, Martin O’Brien, Robert Lambert; Wayne Kinsella, Seán Kinsella; Jack Doyle 0-1, Timmy Collins 0-1, Enda Donohoe 1-7; Andy Hughes, Padraig Doran 0-1, Joe Hughes.

Subs: Drew Brennan for J. Walsh, John Doyle for R. Lambert, Oisin Furlong J. Hughes, Cormac Doyle for T. Collins,


Our Sponsors