Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Cill Mhantáin

Lilys weeded out by Garden County

February 25th, 2019

Lilys weeded out by Garden County

Wicklow hurlers played host to Kildare, last years Christy Ring Cup Winners, in the County Grounds in Aughrim last Sunday in Round 4 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 2B. Both teams were on four points on the table and victory was of the utmost importance to both sides if they were to remain in contention for a final place in the competition. The sides traded points early in play before the “Lilywhites” went a point ahead, three points to two. Kildare lost their wing forward, John Gorman, when Waterford referee John Gorman issued a straight red card for a “wild pull” on on Wicklow’s Gary Byrne.

The returning St. Patricks club man Andy O’ Brien making his first start in inter-county hurling for 2019 got the games opening goal followed by a neat hand-pass to the incoming Jack Doyle who scored a point. Two Enda Donohoe frees gave Wicklow a six point lead at the interval 1-09 to 0-06.

Kildare started the second period strongly scoring two points and seemed to be taking the battle to Wicklow until an Enda Donoghue goal eased matters for the home team. Kildare got it back to a two point margin and it was the fourth minute of added time before Christy Moorehouse’s long range free sealed a great victory by 2-17 to 1-17.

Wicklow travel to Ballinascreen next Sunday to play Derry who have 8 points from four games and they are assured of a place in the final. Down and Wicklow both have six points. Down travel to Newbridge to play Kildare.

The results of those games will decide which county meets Derry in the final on March 10th. A win in Ballinascreen plus a Kildare victory over Down in Newbridge would mean a Wicklow v Derry final.

Wicklow Scorers: Andy O’ Brien 1-04, Enda Donohoe 1-04 (2 frees), Christy Moorehouse 0-05 (3 frees), Eoin McCormack 0-02, Jack Doyle 0-01, Michael Boland 0-01.

Wicklow: Cian Staunton, Brian Kearney, Billy Cuddihy, Martin O’ Brien, Gary Byrne, Stephen Kelly, Warren Kavanagh, John Henderson, Jack Doyle, Michael Boland, Enda Donohoe, Eoin McCormack, Christy Moorehouse, Andy O’ Brien, Jonathon O’ Neill. Subs: Luke Evans for Jonathon O’ Neill, Ronan Byrne for Jack Doyle, Eoghan Byrne for Enda Donohoe

Our Sponsors